Thursday Meditation: The All-Good

I pray.

In fact I like to congratulate myself that I pray quite a bit.

But lately I’ve been realizing my prayers consist of are mostly petitions for myself and others

Instead of taking the time to behold the beauty of the Lord.

Then the Valley of Vision a collection of Puritan prayers entered my life. As I have been praying through this beautiful book of prayers, my own prayer life and devotional life has been greatly encouraged. This has been my prayer and meditation lately.

 

The All-Good

“My God,

Thou hast helped me to see,

that whatever good be in honor and rejoicing,

how good is he who gives them, and can withdraw them; 

that blessedness does not lie in so much in receiving good from and in thee, but

in holding forth they glory and virtue;

that it is an amazing thing

to see Deity in a creature, speaking, acting, filling, shining through it;

that nothing is good but thee,

that I am near good when I am near thee

that to be like thee is a glorious thing:

This is my magnet, my attraction.

 

Thor art all my good in times of peace,

my only support in days of trouble,

my one sufficiency when life shall end.

Help me to see how good they will is in all,

and even when it crosses mine

teach me to be please with it.

Grant me to feel thee in fire, and food and every providence,

and to see that they many gifts and creatures
are but they hands and fingers taking hold of me.

Thou bottomless fountain of all good,

I tie myself to thee out of love,

for all I have or own is thine,

my goods, family, church, self,

to do with as thou wilt,

to honour thyself by me, and by all mine.

if it be consistent with they eternal counsels,

the purpose of they grade,

and the great ends of they glory

then bestow upon me the blessings of they comforts;

if not, let me resign myself to they wiser determinations.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

